bad teacher

I’m bad.

Bad at pretending that my kindergarteners’ issues don’t matter.

Bad at pretending that their test scores do matter.

Bad at distancing myself from my kids.

Bad at distancing myself from their families.

Bad at separating my school life from my home life.

Bad at keeping my opinions to myself.

Bad at ignoring solid research and best practices.

Bad at preventing my eyes from rolling during professional development sessions and meetings.

Bad at believing that I can eliminate the effects of poverty by teaching “better.”

Bad at following a developmentally inappropriate curriculum designed by non-teachers.

Bad at believing that teachers are bad no matter what the media, the government or our administrators tell me.

I’m bad at all those things.

But I’m a really good teacher.

3 Comments on “bad teacher”

  1. keeneelou says:

    Sometimes you have to be bad to be good.
    Keep it up.

  2. Why’d you stop posting?


Leave a Reply

