Improve

…the most important purpose of evaluation is not to prove, but to improve.

from Evaluation Theory, Models, and Applications
by Daniel L. Stufflebeam and Anthony J. Shinkfield

This is such an important statement. I believe it. My principal believes it. But our county, state and federal government believe the opposite. They focus only on proof and their methods are suspect.

Improving an individual child may not be measurable until long after s/he leaves school or it may be instantaneous. Or improvement may be so gradual, it is barely perceived.

Maybe I should change my mantra

only connect

taken from the epigraph to Howard’s End by E.M. Forster, to

improve

There are so many nuances to that word and its application in my classroom and my life.

Thanks to Jim Horn for using the Stufflebeam/Shinkfield quote in his letter to the Seattle school board which came up in my twitter feed courtesy of Paul Thomas (@plthomasEdD).

One Comment on “Improve”

  1. Mellissa says:

    Normally I do not learn post on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to try and
    do it! Your writing taste has been surprised me.
    Thank you, very nice post.


Leave a Reply

